March 12, 2007

Gendered difference

Posted in Random at 17:36 0 by gillsmoke

So a couple of children’s songs are in my head

“Make new friends
but keep the ooold
One is silver
and the other gold.”

“The more we come together together together.
The more we come together, the happier we’ll be.
Cause your friends are my friends,
and my friends are your friends.
The more we come together, the happier we’ll be.”

Now I have to tell you, “Those are some great songs.”
but I didn’t learn them in school, I learned them from my sister who was a girl scout. No singing like that in my boy scout experience. It was singular completion of tasks. Demostrated, now you do it.

So why are men encouraged to be singular doers and women encouraged to be group particpants? Doesn’t a well rounded person need both?

I love those songs and whistle them all the time.

2 Comments »

  1. crse said,

    Your dad said you dropped out after a year. You might not have gotten up to the songs yet….im just saying is all….

  2. gillsmoke said,

    Wouldn’t they be mentioned in the Handbook.

    Brother D. could answer he was an Eagle Scout after all.


Leave a Reply

