November 23, 2009

Random thoughts from a place near an abyss

Posted in Uncategorized at 19:00 0 by gillsmoke

I saw him. He looked woozy sipping water. The old chap didn’t look so good. An attendant was talking to him. He looked like he was just trying to keep his shit together. He slumped to the floor with a thump. Then the crew panic began.

“Everybody back.”

“Stop”

“Everybody back.”

“Stop”

“Everybody back.”

“Stop”

“Everybody back.”

Now do the hokey pokey and turn yourself about, I was thinking “Is this the start of a pandemic like on 12 Monkeys?” As he got wheeled out on a wheelchair with an airplane oxygen mask shaking his head with a look of disgust on his face I knew, “Nope just a panic attack.”

I think it was an omen.

I thought of the following tweets while working:

Why in the fuck am I at the Hilton? You say it’s a little cheaper. Not after I buy internet it isn’t. (I later found out the trick, get the wireless code then go to your room and put it in.)

MMMMM Sigler’s Nocternal, tasty. I think it’ll work out this time. (I should give a review, maybe later)

The sole reason I hate PR has nothing to do with anything here. It’s my sinuses, splitting headaches constant drip no relief.

What was I doing? oh yeah pretending that I know what I’m doing. Give me a sec. There does it match?

After staring at a chart for 5 minutes I remember what William said “I’ve been here 20 years and I still don’t understand that paper.”

I’m not a knowledge worker per se but trying to find all the information for this job is a lot like Merlin Mann writing a book.

“If only I could find that perfect apostrophe.” Only the graphic designer left 5 years ago and I can’t go home until it is found.

Subtle mob see: subtlemob.com, There’s another concept that needs to go to San Fransisco, but charge 40 bucks a head.

Home by Thanksgiving. Now stop messing around and get back to work.

I extended several times and need to buy some clothes on a Sunday and wrote:

So I thought I was being extra slow this morning having a long breakfast and catching up on Mafia wars.Turns out that although the mall doors open at 10am on Sunday the mall opens much later. I’m heading back to the hotel to find a Walmart. Turns out they don’t open till noon either. Wow, I think I just need to relax.

I finished Personal Effects Dark Arts by JC Hutchins pretty good but once I got into it I didn’t fiddle with the extras included with the book. I have a suggestion how it could have worked better (perhaps I can review the book another time).

TheGearheart.com again a pretty good story  but the best parts are the “Brought to you by,” commercials at the end of the episodes (I’ll probably reviw this as well).

The afternoon after I got home I lost my mind, I couldn’t keep my cool. I didn’t get it together till after the party we totally missed. This is a public Apology to my family, I’m Sorry. I will endeavor to do better. I was controlling and irrational, please forgive me.

Leave a Reply

